Journalism

Cursed Earth – THE DEATHBED SESSIONS REVIEW 2019

BY KENNY LENEHANCursed Earth, Perth Western Australia’s most brutal exports released The Deathbed Sessions EP on 31 May 2019 via UNFD Central. The Deathbed Sessions features guest appearances from Larissa Stupar (Venom Prison), Matt Honeycutt (Kublai Khan), Joel Birch (The Amity Affliction), Booka Nile & Sean Harmanis (Make Them Suffer), Nick Adams (Justice For TheContinue reading “Cursed Earth – THE DEATHBED SESSIONS REVIEW 2019”

BY KENNY LENEHANCalifornian rapper The Game needs little introduction after rising from the streets of Compton California after legendary hip hop producer Dr Dre took him under his wing signing to his Aftermath label and collaborating with the likes of 50 Cent and G Unit in the 00’s projecting The Game to household name status worldwide. The Documentary album introduced The Game to the worldwide market back in 2005, now in 2019 The Game releases Born 2 Rap featuring a collection of all-star collaborators including Travis Barker, Ed Sheeran and more. Born 2 Rap, rumoured to be The Game’s final albums, was released 29 November 2019 via Entertainment One US. I dive in below.First of the mammoth 25 tracks is ‘City Of Sin’, which in my opinion has a great chill out feel and giant sounding bass guitar and synth. Although I can’t say I am an Ed Sheeran fan, the track may have suited being a instrumental, but fans of Ed Sheeran may enjoy the short track.‘No Smoke’ featuring Miguel and Travis Barker, is an interesting track as it has an almost rock feel without straying away too far from its hip hop sound. A catchy number that has left an impression on me… I dug this one.Being a Bassist myself one of my favourite elements of hip hop is the Bass Guitar as it can carry a Hip Hop track and a good example of this is ‘Carmen Electra’ featuring a interesting bassline/hook that accompanies the main hook and feel of the track.REPORT THIS ADPRIVACY SETTINGSThe title track ‘Born 2 Rap’ has a swing and groove to its main hook that has me nodding and feeling its groove. Some atmospheric stuff going on also, which hides in the mix slightly, but works well.Other stand out tracks ‘The Code’, ‘Ask For Me’ and ‘One Life’.Rolling in at 1 hour 30 mins and 12 secs, featuring a whopping 25 tracks – arguably 2 whole albums worth of material. Some really surprising sounds to me as I haven’t listened to The Game for over a decade. A much fuller sound that has matured into a versatile experience that anyone can relate to. Production on Born 2 Rap is clean tight and full without being clinical. I feel I would revisit some of the tracks on Born 2 Rap and I would recommend the album as there is something for everyone.Social Mediahttps://twitter.com/thegame?s=09https://www.facebook.com/thegame/https://www.facebook.com/thegame/

FRACTAL UNIVERSE – RHIZOMES OF INSANITY REVIEW 2019

RELEASE DATE: 19 APRIL 2019BY KENNY LENEHAN Fractal Universe released their hotly anticipated album ‘Rhizomes of Insanity’ on 19 April 2019 via Metal Blade Records. The French Progressive Death Metal four piece formed in 2014 and have grown considerably in a few short years having toured extensively in support of 2015’s E.P ‘Boundaries Of Reality’.Continue reading “FRACTAL UNIVERSE – RHIZOMES OF INSANITY REVIEW 2019”

PERRY FERRELL – KIND HEAVEN REVIEW 2019

RELEASE DATE: 31 MAY 2019BY KENNY LENEHANLollapalooza founder and Jane’s Addiction frontman Perry Farrell releases ‘Kind Heaven’ on 31 May 2019 via BMG. The album features musicians from Soundgarden, David Bowie and Foo Fighters Drummer Taylor Hawkins. Its Vinyl release features a code to download the album that has been mixed with Dolby Atmos, givingContinue reading “PERRY FERRELL – KIND HEAVEN REVIEW 2019”

Lacuna Coil – Black Anima REVIEW 2019

BY KENNY LENEHAN Italian gothic metal giants Lacuna Coil need little introduction since forming in 1994 they have risen to become a metal staple. Their unique blend of melodic mayhem has captured audiences worldwide with the classic tracks ‘Heaven’s A Lie’, ‘Our Truth’ and the iconic rendition of Depeche Mode’s anthem ‘Enjoy The Silence’ reachingContinue reading “Lacuna Coil – Black Anima REVIEW 2019”

FROM SORROW TO SERENITY – RECLAIM REVIEW 2019

FROM SORROW TO SERENITY – RECLAIMRELEASED 22 MARCH 2019WRITTEN BY KENNY LENEHAN From Sorrow To Serenity recently made their triumphant return with ‘Reclaim’, released 22 March 2019 via Long Branch Records and is the follow up to 2017’s single ‘Golden Age’. ‘Reclaim’ reveals the bands revitalized sound and is the first release to feature newContinue reading “FROM SORROW TO SERENITY – RECLAIM REVIEW 2019”

Rachel Aspe “LOKUST- Guiltless Vocal Cover.

By Kenny Lenehan “Rachel Aspe” is a French death metal vocalist from Grasse France formally lead vocalist of French metal titans “Eths”. Relocating to Glasgow Scotland in 2018 Rachel Aspe has continued to produce some stellar vocal performances and during the COVID-19 pandemic has released a multitude of vocal covers. Known for her unique takeContinue reading “Rachel Aspe “LOKUST- Guiltless Vocal Cover.”

LORD OF THE LOST- SWAN SONGS III- REVIEW

Artist- LORD OF THE LOSTTitle- SWAN SONGS IIIRelease Date 07/08/2020 via Napalm Records By Kenny Lenehan German dark metal giants “Lord Of The Lost” return with full classical ensemble for the highly anticipated follow up to “Swan Songs II”. The third instalment of Swan Songs featuring “The Lord Of The Lost Ensemble” with newly recordedContinue reading “LORD OF THE LOST- SWAN SONGS III- REVIEW”

KOMORU- INEXORABLE REVIEW

Artist- KOMORUTitle- INEXORABLERelease Date 8/05/2020 By Kenny Lenehan Scottish deathcore 4 piece “Komoru” released “INEXORABLE” on 8/05/2020 I dive into their latest offering of brutality. Instantly winning me over with its sludgy groove laden energy “INEXORABLE” proves that its not all blast beats at 220 bpm. In my opinion this track really struck me asContinue reading “KOMORU- INEXORABLE REVIEW”

Sabaton – The Great War (History Version) Review

Artist-SabatonTitle-The Great WarRelease Date-19/07/2019 By Kenny LenehanSwedish war metal hero’s “Sabaton” release “The Great War” on 19/07/2019 via “Nuclear Blast Records”. Released just in time for the bands 20th anniversary the album is heavy inspired by the events of WW1. The album will see a clear vinyl release and also “History Version” on Digital/CD formats.Continue reading “Sabaton – The Great War (History Version) Review”

Stoned Jesus- From The Outer Space Review

Artist- Stoned JesusTitle- From The Outer SpaceRelease Date 8/11/2019 Napalm Records By Kenny Lenehan Formed back in 2009 in Kiev Ukraine “Stoned Jesus” have impressed audiences worldwide with their take on the Stoner/Doom sound. Becoming somewhat of a legend amongst the ever growing stoner/doom underground scene. I first heard “Stoned Jesus” a few years backContinue reading “Stoned Jesus- From The Outer Space Review”

MAD BLACK “HEAVE” REVIEW.

Artist- Mad BlackTitle- “HEAVE” EPRelease Date – Out Now via YouTube. By Kenny Lenehan Glasgow’s Mad Black forming in 2017 as “Visor”. Featuring members of Dominicide and Man Must Die, proving to be veterans of the scene with their back catalogue also available via bandcamp. Having previously been described as Alt metal/hardcore with hints ofContinue reading “MAD BLACK “HEAVE” REVIEW.”

Bassforge Rex Brown Demo

So I recently had the pleasure of working with Joey Sturgis Tones! If you are unfamiliar with Joey Sturgis Tones, they are a Audio Production Software Company founded by Platinum Selling producer Joey Sturgis! Joey has worked with many of modern metal’s elite and is highly respected in the business as an innovator of bothContinue reading “Bassforge Rex Brown Demo”

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year Everyone! Thanks to everyone I worked with in 2019 for making it a killer year! Lets smash it in 2020! I have been working on my own material and evolving in a few fields of late. I have started my own youtube channel which I will be creating content for with aContinue reading “Happy New Year!”

Lacuna Coil + Infected Rain Live Review Glasgow Garage 13th November 2019

Artist- INFECTED RAIN + LACUNA COIL Venue- GLASGOW GARAGE NOV 13TH 2019 By Kenny Lenehan I arrive at the Garage Glasgow just before “Infected Rain’s” set to the venue being around a quarter full with many still arriving. At 18-25pm the lights dim as infected rains’ intro tape rolls “Eugene Voulta” appears behind the kitContinue reading “Lacuna Coil + Infected Rain Live Review Glasgow Garage 13th November 2019”

Bloodstock 2020 Final Headliner Announcement!

Bloodstock Festival Announce The final headliners for Bloodstock 2020 celebrating 20 years with legends Judas Priest Celebrating thier 50th aniversary closing the festival on The Ronnie James Dio Stage on Sunday 9th. Saturday see’s polish metal giants Behemoth headline in what is shaping up to be an incredable line up Celebrating 20 years of Bloodstock!Continue reading “Bloodstock 2020 Final Headliner Announcement!”

Infected Rain -Endorphin Review Kenny L

Artist- Infected Rain Title- Endorphin Release Date 18/10/2019 via Napalm Records By Kenny Lenehan Moldavian metal outfit “Infected Rain” featuring model/front woman “Lena Siccorhands” have grown from humble beginnings after forming in 2008 in Chisinau Moldova. I first heard Infected Rain a while back with the track “Sweet Sweet Lies” leaving a lasting impression onContinue reading “Infected Rain -Endorphin Review Kenny L”

Lacuna Coil – Black Anima

Artist- Lacuna Coil Title- Black Anima Release Date 11/10/2019 Century Media Records By Kenny Lenehan Italian gothic metal giants “Lacuna Coil” need little introduction since forming in 1994 they have risen to become a metal staple . Their unique blend of melodic mayhem has captured audiences worldwide with the classic tracks “Heaven’s A Lie” “OurContinue reading “Lacuna Coil – Black Anima”

Dragonforce – Extreme Power Metal Album Review

Artist- Dragonforce Title- Extreme Power Metal Release Date 27/09/2019 By Kenny Lenehan Titans of power metal “Dragonforce” most memorable for their classic tracks “Through The Fire And Flames” and “Fury Of The Storm” still going strong after 20 years as they release their eighth full length “Extreme Power Metal” on 27/09/3019 via “Metal Blade Records”.Continue reading “Dragonforce – Extreme Power Metal Album Review”

Gost – Valediction Album Review

Artist- Gost Title- Valediction Release Date 04/10/2019 via Century Media Records By Kenny Lenehan Mysterious Dark wave genre bending producer “Gost” release “Valediction” on 04/09/2019 via “Century Media Records”. Having recently signed up to the Century Media Records roster after touring extensively with label mates “3teeth”. Amassing a cult following worldwide on an underground levelContinue reading “Gost – Valediction Album Review”

Lord of the Lost “Judas” out 02/07/2021 via Napalm Records

By Kenny Lenehan

Photo Credit: Jan Season / VDPictures

By Kenny Lenehan

German genrefluid visionaries LORD OF THE LOST return with their seventh studio album, JUDAS (out July 2nd, 2021 via Napalm Records). With this sophisticated offering, conceptualized as a double record from the very beginning, the five-piece are cementing their position as exceptional artists that can’t be pigeonholed once more and have undeniably reached the next level with their most innovative and mature record to date. Not only the sound is massive, but LORD OF THE LOST impressively deliver JUDAS physically as well: The album will be available as a limited deluxe box, earbook, 2-CD mediabook, 2-CD sleevepack, 2 x 2 LP gatefold recycled vinyl, double music cassette as well as digital version.

Let’s drive into a release I personally have been looking forward to checking out. 

“Lord Of The Lost – Judas”

After releasing “Swan Songs III” last year it was the last release I reviewed and had the pleasure to interview Nik Kahl drummer of Lord of the Lost prior to its release last summer. This is the bands first heavy record since “Thornstar” released back in 2018. I personally can’t wait to check this record out after seeing some of the teaser trailers and promotional material over the past months. A mammoth 24 tracks over 2 disks I will be making up for lost time check out my thoughts of “Judas” below.

Disk 1 “Damnation”-

Track 1 “Priest” was released as the lead single for Judas back in April with accompanying YouTube video that certainly displays both the diverse textures and sounds of Lord of the lost a stellar movie like music video. Opening the track is a tribal like drum pattern with a female vocal with a spiritual tone with “Chris Harms’s” haunting baritone vocal entering at 1:04. Hitting me with an almost cult like chant that matches the promotional material seen over the past few months via the bands social media. In my opinion a ballsy intro due to length and essentially featuring an instrumental for over a minute is a unique way to open the track and the mammoth 24 track album. I can imagine this to be the bands stage intro tape which would certainly blend well with the onslaught of the full band entering at 1-36 to the chant “Priest”. I first heard the track and accompanying music video back in April and I will be honest it didn’t hit me like I thought it would and is still growing on me. The track is a breath of fresh air however and opens the album perfectly leaving me looking for more (23 other tracks to choose from.)

“For they know what they do” track 2 of disk one “Damnation” was released as a teaser for the album with again having its own accompanying music video on 02/06/2021. I also checked this release out upon its release and had a similar opinion to “Priest”. A strong track that captures the signature “Lord of The Lost” sound but with a fresh outlook with recurring cult themes with female choir vocals that in my opinion doesn’t capture me as much as “Thornstar” did, but along with “Priest” I am sure the track will grow on me.

“Your Star Has You Led Astray” gives me what I have been looking for and that’s a fresh take on the “Lord of The Lost” sound but with the similar soundscape of “Thornstar”. This appetites me for what’s to come I do feel that “Judas” is a new era for the band.

So far my most favoured track on “damnation” has to be “The Heart Is A Traitor” having an Industrial vibe during the intro flowing into a heavy full on take on the Lord Of the Lost sound that restores my faith in the album. (No pun intended)

Disk 2 “Salvation”

“The Gospel Of Judas” instantly restores my enthusiasm for the album and brings me to realise that both disks have a theme of both darkness and light. Retaining themes from disk 1 “Salvation” brings a more favourable approach to me personally. 

I don’t want to give away too much of the goods but “Judas” is a solid effort that will undoubtedly grow upon me! Other stand out tracks include “Viva Vendetta”, “A War Within”, “Work of Salvation” and “ And It Was Night”.

I strongly urge you to check out “Judas” and the Lord of the Lost back catalogue as in my opinion they are the best band in Europe, I do feel “Judas” will undoubtedly grow on me and will please fans new and old alike. COVID permitting and when live shows return it’s recommended to check out Lord of the Lost live as the live show is second to none in my opinion.

Tracklist JUDAS (CD1: Damnation):

1. Priest

2. For They Know Not What They Do

3. Your Star Has Led You Astray

4. Born with a Broken Heart

5. The 13th

6. In the Field of Blood

7. 2000 Years a Pyre

8. Death Is Just a Kiss Away

9. The Heart Is a Traitor

10. Euphoria

11. Be Still and Know

12. The Death of All Colours

Tracklist JUDAS (CD2: Salvation):

1. The Gospel of Judas

2. Viva Vendetta

3. Argent

4. The Heartbeat of the Devil

5. And it Was Night

6. My Constellation

7. The Ashes of Flowers

8. Iskarioth

9. A War Within

10. A World where We Belong

11. Apokatastasis

12. Work of Salvation

JUDAS will be available in the following formats:

– Deluxe Box (incl. 2-CD Mediabook, 1 CD The Sorrows Of The Young, 2 CD LOTL+, DVD Becoming JUDAS, Cover Alu Print) – limited to ww 1500 copies

– 4 CD Earbook – limited to ww 500 copies

– Double Music Cassette – limited to ww 100 copies

– 2-CD Mediabook

– 2-CD Sleevepack

– Vinyl Box incl. 2x 2LP Recycled BLACK Vinyl Gatefold

– Digital Album

Photo Credit: Jan Season / VDPictures

LORD OF THE LOST are:

Chris Harms -Vocals, Guitar, Cello

Pi Stoffers – Guitar

Class Grenayde – Bass

Gared Dirge – Piano, Synthesizer, Percussion , Guitar

Niklas Kahl – Drums

Social Media

https://www.facebook.com/lordofthelost/

https://instagram.com/officiallordofthelost?igshid=15bf22n93w7wv

https://www.facebook.com/napalmrecords/

Website

https://www.lordofthelost.de/

https://napalmrecords.com/

All content © Kenny Lenehan. Not to be reproduced in part or in whole without the express written permission of Kenny Lenehan.

%d bloggers like this: